Nov 8th Featured Writer and Writing group

We are delighted to welcome Jenifer Harley as our featured writer and committee member. Jenifer joined the committee at the last AGM and you can read her views on being a committee member and more about her varied and versatile writing activities.

Jenifer writes

‘ Originally from East Lothian I moved to West Lothian 40 years ago with my supportive and long suffering husband Dave. We have 2 married sons and 2 wonderful grandsons. I’m a member of West Lothian Writers, who have collectively encouraged me to finish my first novel “Atholl Brose”, a romance with a spiritual twist, set in and around Blair Castle. I gain enormous pleasure from the written and spoken word. Often I’ll read, and re-read, a sentence or paragraph just to enjoy how the author chose to construct it.

My first love is poetry but I also write short stories, plays, reflections and more recently have tried my hand at flash fiction. In the last few years I have attended writing courses led by poet Alistair Paterson and authors Magi Gibson and Ian Paterson. Several of my poems and a short story have been published in the West Lothian Writers’ anthologies ‘From the Purple Notebook’ and ‘A Well Travelled Notebook’. I have performed my work at spoken word events at Howden Park Centre, Livingston. My other achievement was in a competition about my home town sponsored by Tennents’ Lager. My prize of 6 pint glasses depicting the major cities in Scotland are brought out proudly each New Year.

I was introduced to the Federation by Rose Ann Fraser Ritchie after meeting her at my first poetry slam in Musselburgh, then at the spoken word events she organises in Edinburgh. She invited me to the AGM and proposed me as a member of the committee. Although new to the Federation I can see how the organisation provides writers of all ages and abilities with a platform to share their work and views with like-minded folk. I’m astounded by the excellent standard of writing that is out there and am delighted to play my small part in enabling authors to develop and showcase their work. As a new member of the committee I look forward to being involved in arranging future events. I also hope to glean from more experienced members how my contribution can benefit those involved with the Federation.

Leave a Reply

